The Only site in the World to provide Ball to Ball Betting

  • 1$ =    0.00 INR

    Jasprit Bumrah replaces Shami in T20I squad


    Jasprit Bumrah replaces injured pacer Mohammed Shami in the Indian squad for the three-match Twenty20 International (T20I) series against Australia, BCCI announced on Monday (January 18).

    Bumrah, the Gujarat medium pacer, will fly to Australia along with other T20I squad members - Suresh Raina, Harbhajan Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Ashish Nehra and Hardik Pandya - on January 22.

    Bumrah was expected to join India's One-Day International (ODI) squad after Shami pulled up with a hamstring injury ahead of the ongoing five-match series. However, logistical issues including the procurement of a visa, forced the national selection committee into naming Bhuvneshwar Kumar instead.

    The 22-year-old, who plays for Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League, has emerged as the bowling stay of the Gujarat side in the ongoing domestic season. He was also the team's highest wicket-taker in the 50-over Vijay Hazare Trophy with 21 scalps in nine games, including a five-wicket haul in the successful final against Delhi. Hours before his selection on Monday, Bumrah picked up 1-28 in four overs to help defending champions Gujarat beat Mumbai by six wickets.

    Bumrah has 52 wickets from 47 T20 games at an average of 24.53 and an acceptable economy of 7.34. His unorthodox, open-chested action can be quite a handful in the shortest format of the game.

    The three-match T20I series begins in Adelaide on January 26.

    add 1
    add 1